Bedtime stories

Dante likes us to sing songs to him at bedtime. Laura generally makes up her own words, but I am no good at that, so I sing him various classic rock favorites. Frequently, these are cause for hilarity and/or wonder.

Singing “Comfortably Numb” by Pink Floyd:
ME: When I was a child, I had a fever…
DANTE: What??? You had a fever the whole time you were a child??

Singing “You Know My Name (Look Up The Number)” by The Beatles:
ME: You know my name…
DANTE: Yes, it’s “Paul O’Brian.”
ME: Look up the number.
DANTE: What number?
ME: You know my name…
DANTE: YES, it’s “Paul O’Brian!”
ME: Look up the number.
DANTE: WHAT NUMBER?
ME: You know, you know, you know my name…
DANTE: WHAT IS WITH THIS CRAZY SONG?

Singing “Let It Be” by The Beatles:
ME: When I find myself in times of trouble, Mother Mary comes to me…
DANTE: I don’t understand this song. Who is Mother Mary?
ME: Who do you think she is?
DANTE: What I think is that she’s kind of like in [Star Wars] Episode 5, when Obi-Wan appears to Luke as a ghost.

Leave a Reply

