Danet!

Yesterday Dante and I were playing Notepad, and I had an idea for a new way to play with it. Dante knows that his name is spelled D-A-N-T-E, so I suggested that we try to find each letter so that we could write his name in Notepad. Well, it was laborious, but we finally found each letter in turn, and lo and behold, there was “dante” on the screen!

He then held down Backspace (another recent addition to our Notepad activities), erased the word, and then said, “Want to do it again.” So once again, we hunted hunted hunted for the D, the A, the N. As we were looking for the T, he noticed it was very close to the E, and proceeded to type the latter before the former, giving us a Notepad reading:

danet

Well, at this point, the never-too-deeply-submerged Rocky Horror fan in me came out, and I had to sing a little song:

The river was deep but I swam it… Danet!
The future is ours so let’s plan it… Danet!
So please, don’t tell me to can it… Danet!
I’ve one thing to say and that’s ‘Danet! Danet! I love you!’

The road was long but I ran it… Danet!
There’s a fire in my heart and you fan it… Danet!
If there’s one fool for you then I am it… Danet!
I’ve one thing to say and that’s ‘Danet! Danet! I love you!’

Here’s the ring to prove that I’m no joker
There’s three ways that love can grow
That’s good, bad, or mediocre
Oh D-A-N-E-T I love you so!

So let’s go see the man who began it… Danet!
When we met in his science exam it… Danet!
Made me give you the eye and then panic… Danet!
I’ve one thing to say and that’s ‘Danet! Danet! I love you!’

Dante absolutely cracked up when I burst into song like that, and for the rest of the night (as well as today), he occasionally bursts out with “Danet!”

Leave a Reply

