Snooze, snort, sneeze, and snuffle

Laura was sick this week — a sore throat and general fatigue — and we were worried that we were about to experience Dante’s first illness too. Well, we did, but like a lot of things about Dante, it was pretty mild. He changed his sleeping schedule a bit, staying up all day with Laura but falling asleep almost immediately when I got home, and staying asleep until around 5:00 the next morning. (It probably helped that I’d wake him up just enough to feed him a bottle around 10 or 11 pm. I can’t imagine he would have been able to sleep so long otherwise.) He may be sneezing a bit more as well, though that’s a bit hard to gauge.

He also got a bit of congestion, though it didn’t dampen his mood any. Mostly, it just meant that he paused more while feeding, so that he could breathe through his mouth. Yesterday morning, we tried to give him some saline nose drops and suction out his nostrils a bit. Predictably, he found this behavior highly annoying. Since he didn’t seem to be unhappy with his congestion, just with our attempts to clear it up, we decided to only do that if it seems like he really needs it.

5 thoughts on “Snooze, snort, sneeze, and snuffle

  1. Can’t decide

    Hmmm…I can’t decide whether to chide you for posting about your baby’s nose congestion on the internet (dude, you’re such a DAD) or to chide myself for being really interested n the topic.

    • Re: Can’t decide

      Yeah, now that you mention it, I guess that is pretty gross. Amazing what seems normal when you’re immersed in it. I’d say go ahead and chide me, but seeing as I don’t know who you are, I think I’ll advise you to chide yourself instead. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

